How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement!

Party Planning Tips for the Physics GeekSo, in the category of we’ve-all-been-waiting-for-it news, the Higgs boson Particle was just found! (ok, they sort of found it last July, but they CONFIRMED it today, so that’s the worthier part!)

This is a big deal physics-wise, and as Michio Kaku says in this interview, “Champagne bottles are popping in laboratories around the world” in celebration of the news. If you want to party too now that the God Particle has arrived, here are some tips on food, drink and tunes for your upcoming physics hoe-down.

Food & Drink Thematic snack and drinks are a must! Get creative with snacks that celebrate the atomic, the exploding, and the art of smashing. Here are some ideas to get you started:

  • Did you know the Smash is a cocktail that already exists? And clearly the perfect choice for a party celebrating the work of an atom-smasher.Β  This super-simple whiskey drink has a splash of citrus and mint, make it a little more atomic with a garnish of your favorite leafy herb or variety of mint.
  • Smash Snacks like these can include all sorts of party mix favorites from chocolate chips to pretzels.
  • These Atomic Hash Browns are likely to be a big hit, but be warned, they can bring the heat! Cut back on the Cayenne if you are looking for a milder alternative.
  • Exploding Chocolate might be a bit adventurous, but if you love crisp rice in your chocolate and want that extra pop-rock zing, give this recipe a try to wow your guests!

Music There are lots of great options when it comes to thematic tunes to enjoy, but here are some of my favorites:

  • Symphony of Science – When I have a rough day and need to remember the majestic beauty of the universe instead of the grueling drudgery of subway delays and gross weather, this is what I put on. All the joy and wonder of some of the most inspirational scientists of our times, beautifully auto-tuned tracks. A recipe for goosebumps, seriously.
  • The Planets, Gustav Holst – Classical works of music based on the features of the 9 (yes I said 9) planets. If these aren’t already in your library, check them out. You’ll feel awesome on a planetary scale.
  • The Invisible World – This weekly (Wed. nights at 11) radio show has news and interviews on up-to-the-minute science and paranormal events. It’s also one of the most entertaining news sources around – and if you want to catch up, all the previous episodes are available for download!

What are you planning to celebrate the big discovery? Share your ideas in the comments section so all our parties will rock!

49 thoughts on “How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement!

  1. I love to party for whatever reason but from what I can see they still did not know if there was only one Higgs boson, as predicted by the Standard Model, the reigning theory in physics, or if the new particle was only the lightest of a whole set of Higgs bosons, a circumstance envisioned by some more advanced and speculative theories. So party on and don’t forget to drink some Green beer on Sunday!

  2. Pingback: How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement! | Finite Difference Group

  3. Since this is the St. Patrick’s Day weekend, I will be drinking a quark of beer and hope to find the lepton with a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. (Wearing the four color theorem instead of the standard green.)

  4. Pingback: How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement! | knotsnbolts

  5. Honestly, lol, I never thought there’s this many people out there celebrating with me. Yay! We’re a giant party tonight!!!

    (Unless you intended this post in a semi sarcastic tone, in which case I’ve missed the point completely and you can feel free to laugh at me..) πŸ˜›

    Congratulations on being freshly pressed! πŸ˜€

  6. I don’t understand what the Higgs Boson particle is, but have heard about it a few times on Nova and The Big Bang Theory. Any excuse to listen to The Planets is a good one though! It’s my favorite piece of classical music.

  7. I’ve been following this news for a long time and I knew that they found it; Glad to know the Higgs Boson has been confirmed, I’m really excited to hear this, thanks for sharing.

  8. I was asking someone about this just the other day but I spelled Hadron incorrectly so I was talking about the Large Hardon Collider. He found it hilarious and I didn’t understand for a while.

  9. I always wanted to combine whiskey with citrus, especially lemon…but short of a whiskey sour I never had any idea how to balance it out, MINT. Sweet, I like this quirky cause for celebration, now if I just had geeky lab coat wearing friends that wanted to party and explain physics to me at the same time…

  10. This is an amazing theme party idea!!!! I love it! Could even make it a costume party, people could show up as science themed things! Scientists in white lab coats, black holes, I’ve seen a periodic table costume before (I am thinking of being that for halloween this year), even as atoms! I want this party to happen…NOW.

  11. I would attend this party for sure! In the tradition of celebratory partying however, I must suggest the Atomic Copper Ale for the party guests who want a little more out of their experience!

  12. In another lifetime, or at least it seems at times like one, I designed IC’s, some of which are in spacecraft noodling around the universe. Any news of a possible find is good news, as it keeps science in the news. Thank you for your post.

  13. Reblogged this on Trydashfecta and commented:
    i’m ready for any kind of celebration that comes along with the higgs boson announcement just as long as it isn’t followed by the phrase “also, we created a black hole that is going to swallow the earth”.

  14. Pingback: How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement! | METS-ploration

  15. All you star gazers, this is the find of the century. I am concerned that the colider will not best this discovery. I hope that it will bring even more exciting things to the wonderment of life.Alfie

  16. It may be a Higgs Boson with a spin! It is not yet proven to be the Particle Physics Standard Model Higgs Boson (Spin-0, a Scalar!) The Particle Physics Standard Model can ONLY be completely proven by a Spin-0, a Scalar Higgs Boson Particle!

  17. As a New Zealander I’d head over to Brightwater and mark the Higgs Boson by running around the memorial to Ernest, Lord Rutherford – I figure he’s the guy that basically made particle physics cool to begin with (pretty much) and got us all going down that track. And he was a fellow Kiwi – what more can I say?

  18. At uni a few years back my physicist friends and I had a few beers to celebrate the large hadron collider and the search for the Higgs, and by a few beers I mean a 24 crate, two bottles of vodka and a bottle of rum, we also went out after dressed as elementary particles, we dressed up as big balls with greek letters on, I was a Neutron, good times…

  19. Pingback: How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement! | 4loveoflove's Blog

  20. Lets get going right away with wheels,, then wires,, battries,,, phones,, semiconductors ,,,, TV,,radio ,,, mobiles,,, then lets get some satelites,,, computers ,,, Will let these things play football and will call for the higgs-bosom as refereee…… πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: Seditious Joy (blog): How to Celebrate the Higgs Boson Announcement! | MargaretDunhamMargaretDunham

  22. Pingback: Writing Sample Portfolio | MargaretDunhamMargaretDunham

Leave a Reply

