Books to Read Your Daughter

Books to Read Your DaughterThis summer, thus far, has been the summer of revisiting YA as a genre – and it has been a fantastic adventure. The more I read these books as an adult, the more i wish I’d had them as a kid, and to that end I’m working up a series of posts on Books to Read Your Daughter.

Ok, ok, so it’s not all altruism. I keep seeing parents – knowing, loving, intelligent parents – say and do things around little girls that I find odd. And I’m not a parent, so I don’t know why they choose the things that they do. Since I have the luxury of a life free of cleaning up after anyone other than myself, I don’t think I can really tell them what to do.

But I can tell them what books would be great for little girls. And they’d be great for little boys too, but because so many stories are already targeted toward little boys (if I need to write a post with examples of this I will) I think it’s more than worthwhile to pick out specific books and why they are perfect for little girls. I’m also thinking of including some tips for the families and friends of little girls – things you can ask, and what to talk about when you talk about books.

I’m really looking forward to this project, and here are several of the books I’m looking at starting with. No, they aren’t all in the same age group, but it’s a work in progress.
A work in progress I’m very much looking forward to!

  • A Pocket for Courduroy
  • Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles
  • The Time Machine
  • Matilda (the book that the image up top is from)
  • The Dragonlance Chronicles
  • The Sneetches and Other Stories

Do you have favorite books you’d add to this list?Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Books to Read Your Daughter

  1. Perhaps this would be better for a slightly older girl, but when I was growing up, I couldn’t get enough of Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted! Just found a copy of it recently, and it’s just as good as I remembered 🙂

    Anyway, love this idea for a post series. I have a side-dream to start a lending library / online discussion group / book-inspired empowerment zone for young & teen girls… we’ll see!

  2. Walk Two Moons, by Sharon Creech, and Earthshine, by Theresa Nelson. I read these in a college Children’s Literature course about 10 years ago, but I’ve hung onto them and reread them a couple times.

Leave a Reply

