Voting Day!

Today was the big day here in NYC – Voting Day. The first time in 12 years that the city is gonna have a new mayor – it’s been long enough, whatever you happen to think of Bloomberg.

I studied political science in college, so I feel like voting is supposed to have a special significance, and to some respects it does. It’s a chance to be engaged in government, it’s part of civic duty. And I do feel that way – I even love the little “I Voted” stickers.

The odd thing about it is, most of political science education on the American political process is about how little the vote actually matters.

So these days I vote, but I’m not sure why entirely. They said in school that anyone who votes now does it for their own reasons and validation. So could that be the only reason why?

Leave a Reply

