Making a Christmas Tree: It Begins…

As I’ve said previously, it too me a while to stop hating Christmas. Now that I enjoy the holiday, I really love creating new traditions for my celebration, and here’s one that is a lot of fun for me: making my own tree.

I know this tradition won’t last for ever- eventually I’ll get tired of building them out of cardboard and yearn for that classic wire-and plastic tree that lived in a box in the attic for the rest of the year. but since as yet I have no attic, I’ll keep with this tradition for as long as I still find it fun.

Last year, inspired by Esty sellers like this one, I made a tree out of cardboard boxes and hot glue. Unlike the cardboard trees of the pros, mine wasn’t very sturdy, and it took forever – unless you genuinely enjoy slicing up cardboard for HOURS I don’t recommend doing it. But it was a lot of fun for me and I’m totally psyched to spend hours of tedious crafting  to make a project that will sit in my living room for a month and then go in the recycling bin.

I’ve been looking around for inspirational projects lately, and here are some of my favorites:

2_greentree 51b64da174c5b6499d000d01._w.540_s.fit_ HomemadeDecor Origami Christmas Tree Tutorial 35watermarkSuspended Ornament Tree

Rolled Paper Plate Tree

Newspaper Roll Tree

Boxy Stacked Tree

Everyone on Pinterest seems to be rocking the holiday DIY! I’m excited to get to work, but need to make some tough decisions about style choice first…

4 thoughts on “Making a Christmas Tree: It Begins…

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

