Yarn Dyeing Projects: Garnets and the Not-Quite-Apollo-Bars

It’s been a very crafty couple of days, and here are some pictures to report back!

Remember those sock blanks I had for dyeing?

Well, I wanted them to reflect the colors of the Apollo candy bars from TV’s LOST.

IMG_0074And… they don’t. I used marigold instead of yellow, wine red instead of red red, and midnight purple instead of blue. So these aren’t the right colors, but I LOVE the way it looks! I hope it knits up well!

This was 2 hanks of truly orange cashmere frogged from a thrift store sweater.

img_0069
I wanted it to match the garnet beads I recently acquired from a convention. Dyeing it was fun and I think it turned out beautifully!

On a side note, these were taken with my spiffy new digital camera, and so far it’s doing an excellent job!

Leave a Reply

