Studying Saturday: Things to Learn in the New Year

There are a lot of things I’d like to learn this year, and here are some links to courses I’d like to use to study them!

First, I’ve signed up for Ramit Sethi’s Earn1k course, so I’d like to hunker down and focus on my lessons there a bit. His free and lower-cost resources have really worked well for me, so I’m looking forward to taking one of the real classes.

Lifehacker’s LHU is a really good resource too – and most of the courses work sort of like podcasts I can listen to at work.

Yes, this list f free resources might look a bit like Buzzfeed’s 24 Invaluable Skills To Learn For Free Online This Year, but so be it! These are the courses I’m interested in.

Speedier reading – I’m a painfully slow reader, and it’d be nice to pick up the pace.

Re-learn Spanish – Maybe, maybe not, but it would be nice to be fluent.

Voice/Singing – I love to sing, but it’d be really good to know if I’m doing it wrong

Negotiation – Because careers require it, and I’m not great at it. Tend to feeling like I’m playing poker poorly when I do.

Drawing – I used to draw a lot, but then I was supposed to focus on science instead of art. I think it’s dumb to keep pointing to a call someone else made while I was in grade school when I think of how I don’t draw well, so yes, it’d be good to do it better.

Writing – I always love to get more ideas on how to communicate with elegance and economy, so I love writing courses! Particularly ones where I can start them and if they are crap, I can stop them.

Journalism – I’ve been thinking it might help my writing and broaden my portfolio to study up on journalism.

Photoshop, or Photoshop – I want to get good with this program. I’m the best in the office just by mucking about and googling tutorials, but I want to be better at it.

Cleaning – I like this tutorial for cleaning even disastrous homes, because the goal is work in the face of ‘overwhelm’ one of my top ten most loathed words.

Leave a Reply

